About us / Centres


Graphic element for CBEES - the Centre for Baltic and East European StudiesThe Centre for Baltic and East European Studies (CBEES) is tasked with stimulating, coordinating and developing Södertörn University’s research and doctoral education. It has a particular focus on studies of the Baltic Sea region and Eastern Europe and conducts its own research.

Since it was founded in 2005, CBEES has become a strong and thriving multidisciplinary research environment. The centre is a hub for cooperation throughout the Baltic Sea region and Eastern Europe, organising international conferences, seminars and workshops. The researchers’ expertise is in demand both within academia and in public debate. Research in the area is reflected in the international Baltic Worlds journal.

Many international visiting researchers have passed through the centre of the years, and more than 90 doctoral students have studied at BEEGS, the Baltic and East European Graduate School.

Board and members

Chairperson Associate Professor Kimmo Granqvist 

The network’s activities are run by the Board, which has at least three representatives of member institutions and a chairperson who is chosen at every second biannual meeting.





Board members 2016-2020


Academic institute



Södertörn University, Centre for Baltic and East European Studies (CBEES), Stockholm / Department of Finnish, Finno-Ugrian and Scandinavian Studies, University of Helsinki Associate Professor Kimmo Granqvist


Institute of Ethnology of the Slovak Academy of Sciences Mgr. Tatiana Podolinská, PhD.


Institute of Ethnology of the Czech Academy of Sciences Doc. PhDr. Zdeněk Uherek, CSc.
  Minorities Studies Society Studii Romani PhD Elena Marushiakova and PhD Veselin Popov

Network coordinator

Natalia Durkalec, M.A., International Coordinator at the Centre for Baltic and East European Studies at Södertörn University in Stockholm, Sweden (nairs@sh.se, natalia.durkalec@sh.se)


  • Buckinghamshire New University, Faculty of Society & Health, The Institute for Diversity Research, Inclusivity, Communities and Society (IDRICS)
  • Charles University in Prague, Seminar of Romani Studies
  • CNRS (French National Centre for Scientific Research), Lacito (Langues et civilisations à tradition orale)
  • Constantine the Philosopher University in Nitra, Faculty of Social Sciences and Healthcare, Institute of Romani Studies
  • Institute of Cultural Heritage of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova, Centre of Ethnology, "Ethnical Minorities" Unit
  • Museum of Romani Culture in Brno
  • Muzeul Național al Literaturii Române
  • Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences, Social Research Institute NOVA
  • Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice, Faculty of Medicine, Department of Health Psychology
  • Romanian Academy, Nicolae Iorga Institute of History
  • Tallinn University, School of Humanities, Estonian Language and Culture
  • The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, M. S. Hrushevsky Institute of Ukrainian Archaeography and Source Studies
  • The State Archives of Odessa Oblast
  • University of Graz, Plurilingualism Research Unit University of Greenwich, Department of Psychology, Social Work and Counselling
  • University of Iceland, School of Humanities
  • University of Pardubice, Department of Social Studies
  • University of Prešov, Center of Languages and Cultures of National Minorities, Institute of Roma Studies
  • University of Sao Paulo, LEER
  • University of St Andrews, Institute for Global Cinema and Creative
  • Cultures/Department of Film Studies
  • University of St Andrews, School of History