About Södertörn University

Students outside the main entrance of Södertörn University.Södertörn University provides high quality research and education at all levels, offering a friendly atmosphere and an inspiring environment. Our modern, attractive campus is located in Flemingsberg, 19 minutes from central Stockholm on the commuter train.

Södertörn University combines interesting subjects to make engaging and often unique degrees. We offer 250 courses and 70 programmes, and currently have 11 000 enrolled students. We conduct education and research in the humanities, social sciences, technology and natural science. We also offer teacher education with an intercultural profile. Research into the Baltic region and Eastern Europe forms a knowledge environment that is among the best in the world.

University Structure

Södertörn University's organisation is based on four academic schools that are responsible for education and research. The Governing Board is the top decision-making body at the university and includes the Vice-Chancellor among its members. The university has a Faculty Board that has overall responsibility for quality and a library with management that reports directly to the Vice-Chancellor. The university administration is led by the Chief Administrative Officer and primarily contributes administrative support to the rest of the university's organisation.

The Governing Board of Södertörn University has an overview of all business that concerns the university and is responsible for it fulfilling its obligations. The board takes decisions about the overall focus of activities, the university's organisation and internal allocation of resources. It also takes decisions about the annual report, interim reports and the budget.

The Executive Management of the university comprises Vice-Chancellor Gustav Amberg, who is the responsible authority as regards the university's activities and operation. It also includes Pro-Vice-Chancellor Kerstin Cassel and Deputy Vice-Chancellors Nils Ekedahl and Ulla Manns, as well as Chief Administrative Officer Hans Andersson.

Boards and committees are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor and prepare for and advise on issues that relate to the university.

The Faculty Board at Södertörn University is tasked with reviewing and maintaining the quality of courses and programmes as well as planning and coordinating undergraduate education.

The academic schools are responsible for providing education and research, as well as for all other activities, including staff, students, financing, premises and work environment. Subjects, degree programmes and centres all belong to a specific academic school.

Each school is run by a head of school, who is head and the academic and educational leader.

University Structure for Södertörn University 2017-03-20 [pdf-file 66 kB]

Academic schools at Södertörn University

  • School of Historical and Contemporary Studies
  • School of Culture and Education
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Natural Sciences, Technology and Environmental Studies

Additionally, the university offers Teacher Education and Police Education; organisationally, these report to the Vice-Chancellor with each being run by an Academic Head and staffed by teachers from the university’s academic schools. Teachers with expertise in policing are employed by the Swedish Police Authority, and work is led by the Academic Head. Police Education is commissioned by the Swedish Police Authority.

University administration

University administration comprises the following departments and units that work with issues relating to the university as a whole. The Chief Administrative Officer is head of the university’s administration. Each unit is led by a director.

  • Campus and ICT Services
  • Communication and Public Relations
  • Finance and Auditing
  • Human Resources
  • Office for Strategic Economic Analysis
  • Student Support Services
  • University Support Services